Frosty.

So earlier this (academic) year, we had this really great, really intense Illustration course, during which I produced a lot of work I’m pretty proud of. When I say intense, I mean made-me-do-things-I-didn’t-know-I-could.

Here’s my favorite one of those things – an illustration for the poem, ‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening’ by Robert Frost.

I imagined the poem being told by Red Riding Hood, drawing parallels between the dark fairy tale and the haunting imagery in the poem.

robertfrost

30″ x 16″, with water colors and dry pastels, a little photoshop, and a hundred do-overs. Take a look.

DSCN2764My first attempt, where I tried out a different view. The perspective went nuts later on though.

DSCN2792 Then, after looking at a few references I tried a more straightforward view, which allowed me to play with depth as well. But the color scheme naturally wasn’t giving me the dark and foreboding feeling I was looking for.

DSCN2788So then I tried this, same view but different colors. And it definitely worked better. I was advised to remove the protruding branch and the weird shadowy leaves when I did the final, which I did. Helped a lot.

2 comments

  1. PRIYANKAR

    These are simply outstanding stuff 🙂 Lovely work Stuti 🙂

Leave a Reply

